San Benito County

Health & Human Services Agency

Hollister, California

Vital Records

The Vital Records Office of the San Benito County Health and Human Services Agency, Public Health Services processes the County’s Birth and Death Certificates, and Burial Permits.

They provide certified copies of Certificates for those who were born or died in the County during the current or previous year.

It is important to review the new guidelines for certified Birth Certificates and certified Death Certificates.

Vital Records Office is open weekdays from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM (plan on arriving by 4:30 PM to allow processing time), located at:

San Benito County Health & Human Services Agency
Public Health Services

351 Tres Pinos Road, Suite A-202,  Hollister, CA 95023

Telephone: 831-637-5367

Obtaining Certified Copies of Birth & Death Records

Processing fees are deposited upon receiving your request.
$25 for Birth Certificate or $21 for Death Certificate.
Cash only please – Exact change only please.
Please allow 3-4 weeks from the date of deposit to receive your vital record.
Before submitting your application, please view our processing times to make sure they are acceptable for your needs.

Birth Certificates

Birth certificates are used for many official governmental purposes such as Social Security, passport applications and school enrollments.  They are sometimes used for non-official registrations such as little league.  You can purchase a certified copy of your baby’s birth certificate for the current year and the previous year  at our office, located at:

351 Tres Pinos Road, Suite A-202, Hollister CA 95023.

Birth certificates are currently $25 and must be paid with cash only.   Please bring the exact amount for faster processing.  Our office hours are 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.  Please arrive by no later than 4:30 PM to ensure time to fill out the application properly.

Older birth certificates may be purchased in person at the County Clerk-Recorder’s office at 440 Fifth Street, Second Floor Room 206, Hollister, CA 95023.

Obtaining Certified Copies of Birth Record

Processing fees are deposited upon receiving your request.
$25 for Birth Certificate.
Cash only please – Exact change only please.
Please allow 3-4 weeks from the date of deposit to receive your vital record.
Before submitting your application, please view our processing times to make sure they are acceptable for your needs.

Application for Certified Copy of Birth Record – Aplicacion Para Copia Certificada de Acta de Nacimiento

 

Did You Know The Guidelines For Ordering Birth And Death Certificates Has Changed?

Due to the increased occurrence of identity theft, new laws were passed to protect birth and death records from misuse. These laws went into effect July 1, 2003. The California Health and Safety Code, Sections 103526, will permit only authorized individuals to receive certified copies of birth and death records. Those who are not authorized by law to receive certified copies will receive certified copies marked “INFORMATION, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY.”

California Law Defines Individuals Who Can Obtain An Authorized Copy Of A Birth Or Death Certificate As:

  • The registrant, parent or legal guardian of the registrant.
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the California Family Code
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.  (Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency.)
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate.  (If you are requesting a Certified Copy under a power of attorney, please include a copy of the power of attorney with the application form.)
  • Any agent or employee of a funeral establishment who acts within the course and scope of his or her employment and who orders certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of an individual specified in paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code.

San Benito County does not accept online orders.

DEATH CERTIFICATES

Certified copies of death certificates for the current year and the previous year may be purchased at our office, located at 351 Tres Pinos Road, Suite A-202, Hollister CA 95023.  If the person died in San Benito County, you may obtain a certified copy from this office. If the county is not known, please contact the State Office of Vital Records.

Death certificates are currently $21 and must be paid with cash only.  Please bring the exact amount for faster processing.  Our office hours are 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.  Please arrive by no later than 4:30 PM to ensure time to fill out the application properly.

Older death certificates may be purchased in person at the County Clerk-Recorder’s office at 440 Fifth Street, Second Floor Room 206, Hollister, CA 95023.

Obtaining Certified Copies of Death Records

Processing fees are deposited upon receiving your request.
$21 for Death Certificate.
Cash only please – Exact change only please.
Please allow 3-4 weeks from the date of deposit to receive your vital record.
Before submitting your application, please view our processing times to make sure they are acceptable for your needs.

Application for Certified Copy of Death Record – Aplicacion Para Copia Certificada de Acta de Defuncion

Did You Know The Guidelines For Ordering Birth And Death Certificates Has Changed?

Due to the increased occurrence of identity theft, new laws were passed to protect birth and death records from misuse. These laws went into effect July 1, 2003. The California Health and Safety Code, Sections 103526, will permit only authorized individuals to receive certified copies of birth and death records. Those who are not authorized by law to receive certified copies will receive certified copies marked “INFORMATION, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY.”

In The Case Of Death Records, The New Law Describes An Authorized Person As:

  •  The registrant, parent or legal guardian of the registrant.
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the death record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code.
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.
  • A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant.
  • An attorney representing the registrant, the registrant’s estate, and person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate.
  • A funeral director ordering certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of an individual specified in paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 7100 pf the Health and Safety Code.

San Benito County does not accept online orders.

Language Translation Disclaimer
Best viewed withGoogle Chrome and Firefox. Our Agency’s website links to Google Translation as a convenience for those who speak/read languages other than English.  Please be aware that no automated or computerized translation tool produces a perfect translation.  The context of the wording may be lost when translated and some translations may lose the intended meaning. Therefore, the San Benito County Health and Human Services Agency cannot guarantee the accuracy of the translated content. 
If any  questions arise concerning the translated version of the website, please refer to the original English version.
Skip to content